I'm willing to take over the Ubuntu Spring packages

Discuss everything related to running Spring on your chosen distribution of Linux.

Moderator: Moderators

YokoZar

Post by YokoZar »

As of about two weeks ago, I've started playing Spring. I became aware of it after seeing a story on Digg about great Linux games.

Eventually, I found my way to the Something Awful forums Spring thread, which in turn had a link to this Spring thread: spring.clan-sy.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=8247

The instructions there are a bit complicated, but I'd like to bring Spring to the Ubuntu masses.

Who I am:
If you're an Ubuntu Wine user, then you've almost surely used my packages: winehq.org/site/download-deb

I've been maintaining the Wine packages for a couple of years now, but I'm ready to start expanding into other areas. Spring seems like coolest thing to start contributing to, and I'd like to help.

Working with Wine has given me not only a ton of experience hacking .deb packages, but also running an APT repository (see link).

Why the package needs maintenance:
Aside from the new version of Spring due out "soon", the Spring package could use some general touchups. For instance:
  • There is no spring-maps package with all the commonly played maps
  • There is no spring-mods package with the most recent versions of commonly played mods
  • There is no spring-AI package with newer, usable Linux AI - Linux users are essentially forced into multiplayer or compiling AI from source at this point.
  • There is no lobby client in the Linux package (run through Wine or otherwise)
All of these things could benefit from not only being used, but also being kept up to date with the latest package. The magic of apt-get is that we can keep users updated to the latest version of a package when they add our repository - keeping Spring up to date can literally be easier than updating it on Windows.